According to the Indiana Code, the Common Council serves as the Fiscal Agent of the City of Evansville. The Council approves all budgeted expenditures by the City and also considers all resolutions and ordinances of the City. The Council is composed of nine members, six (6) of whom are elected from districts, or wards, of the City and three members who are elected at large.  To view a map of wards, please click here.

City Council meets Monday evening at 5:30 p.m. in Room 301 of the Civic Center.

All business before the Council must be filed with the Office of the City Clerk. The Clerk is the keeper of the record for the Council and maintains the City Code of Ordinances. The Clerk also supervises the City Parking Meter Department.

To contact the Common Council or the City Clerk, please call the City Clerk's office at 436-4993, fax to 436-4999.

Last updated: 12/29/2015 11:20:49 AM