The Indiana Constitution directed the General Assembly to divide the State into judicial circuits, and provided that a Circuit Court would be established in each circuit. Presently, the boundaries of 90 Indiana circuits are coextensive with the boundaries of a particular Indiana county. There are two less populated counties which share a circuit. The boundaries of Indiana's First Judicial Circuit are the same as the boundaries of Vanderburgh County. The First Judicial Circuit Court is commonly known as the Vanderburgh Circuit Court.

Judge David D. Kiely was elected to the office of Vanderburgh Circuit Court Judge in 2013. In addition, Kelli E. Fink has served as Vanderburgh Circuit Court Magistrate Judge since her appointment in 2009. Approximately two-thirds of the cases heard in Circuit Court are felony criminal matters, and approximately one-third are civil matters. In addition, the Court is responsible for Grand Jury proceedings and the County Law Library, and manages the Adult Felony Probation Department and the Drug Abuse and Alcohol Abuse Probation Services.

Last updated: 1/10/2014 2:27:33 PM